The Earliest Photo I have of the Original G.I. Joe’s

Customers parked in front of that first G.I. hospital tent store on Vancouver Avenue in North Portland.  This was the original G.I. Joe’s that opened in 1948 and was owned by a number of partners, including my dad.

Part of the slogan is visible on the front of the tent, saying “Out of Town Shop.”  In 1952, Dad bought the business and became the sole owner.  You can read more about the original store and its part in the Vanport Flood of 1948 in the book, Growing Up… (available at Amazon.com and some Powell’s Bookstores).

This entry was posted in original G.I. Joe's store, Vanport Flood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

